Adventures in Los Angeles 2.5 – How Do You Say “Yawn” in Finnish?

December 10, 2007

I really should be asleep right now… I have a two hour translation seminar at nine in the morning.

I had "The Gestalt of Star Trek" workshopped today.  It went over really really well.  Apparently I’m a better writer than I give myself credit for.  If I had a tail, I’d be wagging it like mad right now.  That was the piece that my previous mentor wanted to nominate for an AWP award… but I wasn’t really ready for it to go out yet.  It’s my intention to get that bitch ready for next time.

I met with Sharman Apt Russel, the infectiously wonderful granola goddess of nature writing, who has published books on subjects ranging from butterflies to the science of hunger… her current project is a book about pantheism… and we discussed my book idea.  I’m going to work up a huge list of books to read for my new project period… and work on creating a book proposal.  Gulp.

I’ve got so much to do tomorrow… and I don’t want to do any of it.  All I want to do is start revising my essay and submit it everywhere on the planet.

Bye everybody.

Leave a Reply

