Adventures in Los Angeles 3.10 – Drawn to a Close

June 29, 2008

I am the last one here.  At least, I think I am.  Most of my friends have gone.  I, stupidly, got the dates wrong… so I’m sitting around until tomorrow, when I fly out… at 10:30… PM.

Checkout time is 11 AM.

le sigh.

My last few days here have been replete with wine and books and jokes at the Bush Administration’s expense.  They were charming and fun and lovely… and I’m ready to go home.

I’m excited about my new semester.  I’m excited about my book – even though I’m terrified of it.  I’m excited to start writing book reviews (which I seem to have shown some aptitude for… and might be able to do for money at some point… which is awesome).  If anyone reading this out there needs a pissy, cynical and handsome fellow to write reviews… I’m your man.

Too bad the internet is destroying all avenues of serious literary and film criticism.  Not like movie critics were ever really respected… well… not by me.,  Not unless they were David Edelstein… who I think is a fucking genius.  But I digress.

I will miss my friends.  I will miss the balmy and cool nights here… and the free air conditioning.  Oh god I’m not looking forward to New Jersey’s swampy heat.

I’ll be happy to have pretty trees again, though.  Palm trees are for the birds.  My that was… obvious.

I don’t have anything deep or profound to say… not like I ever do, my last post was about when I smoked medicinal pot… which, again, I really don’t think anyone should do.  I woke up high.  I was high the whole next day.  It was disastrous.

Tomorrow I get to putz around and fly to Jersey… Monday and Tuesday I get to be cranky and jetlagged.  And then the work starts. 

Oh god so much work.

a.

Leave a Reply

