Charlie Gibson Gives Me Boners

September 12, 2008

Based on her adorably confused and woeful performance in her interview with Charlie Gibson, I don't see how any intelligent American citizen could consider Sarah Palin a legitimate option as President of the United States.

Yes, I said President.  Not Vice… but Prez. 

Why?

Because the McCain campaign isn't about him anymore.  It's all about her: The Republican Christian-Rock Star.  Chances are that McCain wont even survive his first term… so if elected, we've got a great chance of seeing his nattering familiar assume command of the country.

So I measure her by the Presidential yard-stick… not the Vice Presidential one.  That being said…

I'm a huge fan of schadenfreude.  Like, big time.  And while I swam for a moment in the perverse glee that flowed from Sarah Palin's desperate floundering over Gibson's question regarding the Bush Doctrine – I found myself ultimately terrified.  There is a gathering doom around that woman.  She has no idea what she's doing – no idea what she's talking about.  She's the secretary/treasurer of the PTA, not the leader of the Free World.  Not if she doesn't know what the Bush Doctrine is.

Not if she writes a blank check to Israel to be as hawkish as they like.

Not if she perpetuates the horribly ignorant mispronunciation of the word "nuclear."

I wish the American people shared my beliefs… but they don't.  We're so fucking backwards in this country, that millions probably watched her drown in that interview and said when it was done, "Gee… I didn't know what the Bush Doctrine was either.  She's just like me!"

I've always found the McCain = Bush argument to be somewhat dubious.  Sure, the guy has whored himself out over the last six years… and he's lost any respect I ever had for him in doing so.  But the guy isn't Bush. 

Sarah Palin, however, is.  She's a shit-kicking moron who trades in eight-grade metaphor and political absolutes.

Someone get the hook and drag this clown off my TV.

3 Responses to “Charlie Gibson Gives Me Boners”

  1. Dwacon Says:

    Other than the fact that she looks like “Mary Ann” from Gilligan’s Island… I think only those who drank the Kool Aid will take this thing seriously.
    I hope…

  2. a. Says:

    I can see that… kindof a swollen, gun-toting, evangelical psychopath Mary Anne, perhaps.
    As for your hope – I don’t know how reasonable it is. I hate to seem the cynic, but I’ve never credited the American public with an overabundance of intellect. I think the majority of people in this country – at least enough to get McCain the Presidency – are attracted to her mediocrity.
    We’re a firmly anti-intellectual people. We don’t like our leaders to be smarter than we are (which is to say, about as intelligent as a box of crayola crayons). We prefer our leaders to be people with whom we can easily identify. Which, perhaps, is the reason why we re-elected a stammering, swaggering autistic to a second term.
    Still… here’s hoping.

  3. a. Says:

    I can see that… kindof a swollen, gun-toting, evangelical psychopath Mary Anne, perhaps.
    As for your hope – I don’t know how reasonable it is. I hate to seem the cynic, but I’ve never credited the American public with an overabundance of intellect. I think the majority of people in this country – at least enough to get McCain the Presidency – are attracted to her mediocrity.
    We’re a firmly anti-intellectual people. We don’t like our leaders to be smarter than we are (which is to say, about as intelligent as a box of crayola crayons). We prefer our leaders to be people with whom we can easily identify. Which, perhaps, is the reason why we re-elected a stammering, swaggering autistic to a second term.
    Still… here’s hoping.


Leave a Reply

