Puddle Wonderful

September 15, 2008

In my endless crusade to not do my work, I came across this charmingly clever quote a woman left on some Australian guy's blog.  This lovely darling, whom I now want to bed, submitted it in response to the now tired and dusty theistic design argument – the one which harps on the amazing luck that life would come into being on a perfectly designed world, in a universe which works.  Everything works.  Isn't it strange that that would happen?

It's a watchmaker's argument, essentially.  And it's hogwash.

She found it to be, "rather like a puddle being impressed by the perfect fit of its pothole."

I would make love to that woman's wit.

That's it.  Just wanted to share that.

Oh, this too.

[when faced with a similar theistic claim] "You know, the most amazing thing happened to me tonight. I was coming
here, on the way to the lecture, and I came in through the parking lot.
And you won't believe what happened. I saw a car with the license plate
ARW 357. Can you imagine? Of all the millions of license plates in the
state, what was the chance that I would see that particular one
tonight? Amazing!"

                                                             – Professor Richard Feyman
                                                                         Nobel Laureate in Physics

2 Responses to “Puddle Wonderful”

  1. Kimagine Says:

    Richard Feynman – What a brilliant, hysterically funny man. Did you ever read his books, esp. “What do YOU care what other people think?” and “Surely You’re Joking, Mr. Feynman!”?

  2. a. Says:

    Actually, I haven’t. I’m putting them in my pile though. Currently, I’m cutting through Persepolis, Time and the Art of Memoir and The Anatomy of a Rose. After that, it’s on to two books about crows. Then, thanks to your suggestions, Mr. Feynman.


Leave a Reply

