Adventures in Los Angeles 5.? – A World Without Michael Jackson

June 25, 2009

A year ago, I was here in Los Angeles when I heard that George Carlin died.  He died in LA.  I took it poorly – George Carlin got me thinking when I was a kid.  I grew up seeing him as a kind of philosopher… and so when he died, I felt like I had lost a mentor of sorts.  It was personal for me – I went for a long walk that night and listened to his old bits on my iPod.

Now I'm here in LA again, and I just heard that Michael Jackson died.  I'm sitting in a break room at school with a bunch of people… all of us on our laptops, each one sifting through the internet to find out if he was really dead or not.  It's surreal… almost goulish… everyone clicking around like vultures, chirping out little status updates – "coma!" "no… dead." "nope coma again… no… no… yeah, he died."

Now we're all trading stories – anecdotes about him.

What a weird day.

So much for Iran being an interesting story… too bad… I really liked following that one.

Leave a Reply

